Wisconsin Chamber Orchestra presents Ilya Yakushev, piano

  • 201 State St.
  • Madison, WI 53703

  • Stravinsky – Suite No.2 for small orchestra
  • Tcherepnin – Ten Bagatelles, Op. 5 for piano & orch.
  • Stravinsky – Ragtime
  • Tsfasman – Jazz Suite for Piano and Orchestra
  • Mozart – Symphony No. 40

Pianist Ilya Yakushev returns with this jazz inspired program featuring works by Stravinsky, Tcherepnin and Tsfasman. Alexander Tsfasman, born the same year as Shostakovich, was an important figure in Soviet Jazz from the period of the mid-1920s until the late 1960s. His Jazz Suite for Piano and Orchestra from 1945 is both seductive and virtuosic. Stravinsky wrote several jazz inspired works for chamber orchestra and we conclude with Mozart’s sublime and evergreen, Symphony No. 40.

  • Times: 7:30 PM
  • Admission: $10 - $77