Destination Madison Awards 2024

The Destination Madison Awards (DMAs) are the highlight of our year—a chance for us to gather and celebrate the outstanding individuals who contribute to our hospitality community. We are excited to announce two new awards this year: the Sustainability Excellence Award and the MASC Sports Champion of the Year Award.

Nominations are reviewed individually by a selection committee comprised of a cross-section of industry professionals. There are six award categories. Finalists will be chosen per category by the selection committee, and all nominees are invited to attend the Summer Summit + DMAs on June 27, 2024 at The Edgewater where winners will be announced live.

Congratulations to the 2024 DMA nominees!

Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award recognizes individuals who have been in the industry for fewer than five years and consistently achieve excellence in their current role while demonstrating the potential to become a pivotal figure in Madison’s tourism industry. Nominations will be evaluated on examples of leadership, going above and beyond to create exceptional experiences and performance-related accomplishments.  


Rhea Bradley

Director of Sales
Hotel Indigo Madison

Nate Brundage

Front Office Supervisor
The Edgewater

Amanda Chestnut

Disorderly Conduct Rage Room

Lily Cramer

Senior Sales Coordinator
The Edgewater

Alexis Devlin

Sales Coordinator
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center

Mohd Fareed

Banquet Server
The Madison Concourse Hotel

Lilyan Greiveldinger

General Manager
Hodge Podge

Robin Kraszka

Guest Services Manager
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison Downtown

Kaitlyn Konrardy

Manager of Guest Services
Overture Center for the Arts

Merritt Kugel

Reservations Specialist
Best Western Premier Park Hotel

Chelsie Leslie

General Manager
Bar Corallini

Mary Lopez

Kitchen Staff
Short Stack Eatery

Joe Murray

Events & Groups Coordinator
NCG Hospitality

Emilio Mora

Assistant Front Office Manager
Sheraton Madison Hotel

Sasha Rosser

Cheshire Cat Comedy

Julia and Kristopher Steege-Reimann

Voyageur Stays

Destination Host Award

The Destination Host Award recognizes the dedication and service excellence of employees in Madison’s tourism industry who provide service directly to guests. Nominations will be evaluated on examples of customer service excellence, integrity, commitment to their role and employer and performance-related accomplishments. 


Chelsey Austin

Event Coordinator
The Rigby Bar and Grill

Garth Beyer

Owner / Founder
Garth's Brew Bar

Otehlia Cassidy

Madison Eats Food Tours

Katie Genrich

Regional Director of Sales & Marketing
DoubleTree by Hilton Madison Downtown

Brian Gillogy

Bell Staff Member
The Madison Concourse Hotel

Allison Griffith

Lead Bartender
Sheraton Madison Hotel

Willie Lockett

Sheraton Madison Hotel

David Moser

Director of Sales
Best Western Premier Park Hotel

Ryan Olson

Bell Captain
The Edgewater

Meghan Stracka

Senior Wedding Sales & Catering Manager
The Edgewater

Behind the Scenes Service Award

The Behind the Scenes Service Award recognizes the dedication and service excellence of employees in Madison’s tourism industry who work out of public view. Nominations will be evaluated on examples of service excellence, integrity, commitment to job/employer and performance-related accomplishments. 


Rikki Blair

Director of Marketing
Ho-Chunk Gaming Madison

Jeanene Ennis

Facility & Event Scheduling Coordinator
Verona Area School District 

Ryan Flanagan

Chief Engineer
Fairfield Madison South

Olivia Fox

Public Area Attendant
The Madison Concourse Hotel

Patty Gonzalez

Executive Housekeeper
Homewood Suites Madison West

Sarah Hewitt

Lead Cleaner and Concierge Services Coordinator
Voyageur Stays 

Consuelo Huitzil

Fairfield Inn & Suites Middleton (NCG Hospitality)

Gail Johnson, Nadya Nahirniak-Hansen, Kate Verdecchia

Realtors / Relocation Team
Restaino & Associates

Lucas Lehman

Kitchen Manager
Short Stack Eatery

Eulick Mcneil

Lead Engineer
Sheraton Madison Hotel

Karabo Mypa

Reservations Lead
The Edgewater

Emma Nagy

Operations Manager
Hotel Indigo Madison

Kelly Post

Parks and Street Use Coordinator
City of Madison Parks Division 

Aurelia Salas

Breakfast Attendant
Hampton Inn and Suites Madison Downtown

Kate Schommer

Pastry Chef
Short Stack Eatery

Juliana Solis

Housekeeping Manager
Clarion Suites at the Alliant Energy Center

Joe Veir

Lead Banquet Houseperson
The Madison Concourse Hotel

Brooke Zimmerman

Regional Sales Manager
NCG Hospitality

Crystal Zuniga

HR Generalist
The Edgewater

David Zuniga

Short Stack Eatery

Distinguished Achievement Award

The Distinguished Achievement Award recognizes an individual who has distinguished themselves in Madison’s tourism industry by exemplifying the highest level of leadership and service. Nominations will be evaluated on examples of professional excellence, values and integrity, and outstanding achievements that represent the best of the best in our destination. 


Tom Anderson

Buck & Honey's Restaurants

Scott Faulkner

Chief Historian
The Edgewater

Terry Halverson

Manager / Bartender
The Rigby Bar and Grill

Joe Klimczak

General Manager
Cave of the Mounds

Tom Klubertanz

Director of Guest Services
Overture Center for the Arts

Dr. Lynea LaVoy

Hospitality Faculty and Program Director
Madison College

Michael Luehrs

General Manager
Embassy Suites Madison Downtown

Peter McElvanna

General Manager, Proprietor
The Coopers Tavern

David Moser

Director of Sales
Best Western Premier Park Hotel

Geoffrey Sandler

Celebrations Entertainment

Holly Jean Santroch

Executive Housekeeper
Sheraton Madison Hotel

Joel Weitz

Vitense Golfland

The Sustainability Excellence Award

The Sustainability Excellence Award recognizes an individual or business within the hospitality industry that demonstrates exceptional commitment to sustainable practices. This recipient should exemplify the fusion of environmental consciousness, social responsibility, and economic viability. 


Kevin Gibbons

Hodge Podge

Erika & Jessica Jones

Giant Jones Brewing Company

Logan Morrow

Farm Specialist
Exact Sciences 

Laura Serrato & Ralph Stern

Alice Good

Delta Beer Lab

Delta Beer Lab


This award recognizes an individual or organization who has significantly contributed to the growth and development of sports participation, access or helping to bring events to the Madison community.  The recipient of this award has supported the Madison Area Sports Commission to build its high-profile host history and build the local economy. In addition, the recipient’s passion for sports within our community has had a lasting impact on the lives of our residents and visitors. 


Conor Caloia

Chief Operating Officer
Forward Madison FC / Madison Mallards / Breese Stevens Field

Brad Dufek

Executive Director
Madison United Rugby

Billy Kegler

Tournament Director
Madison College, 60Eight Basketball Tournament, Competitive Mindset & Hoop Nerds

Ryan Richards

Director of Events
Red Card Athletics